Skip to content

Staying.

June 11, 2010

I had planned on leaving soon until he crawled into bed for a nap and asked me to wake him up in a few hours…

I nodded in response to his request but that voice in the back of my mind was telling me that I needed to talk, that I needed to communicate, that I needed to say something and the only time to say it was now…

“How long did you want me to stay tonight?” I asked looking up at him from the floor where I’d been sitting and writing. He looked at me quizzically- “You’re going home today?” I explained that I had work tomorrow and hadn’t brought my stuff with me. He looked disappointed. “I thought you were staying here tonight.. you know you can stay.”

My heart swelled and I had to push past the lump in my throat, “Do you want me to stay?” I was looking up at him with tears behind my eyes. Looking down at me, he gave me that look he gets.. the one when I ask if he wants more coffee, or some other ridiculous question I should know the answer to. I pushed the emotions back down my throat while I managed to say, “Sometimes… sometimes I need to hear you say it.” It was then that his expression changed. His hand reached down and he ran the tips of his fingers though my hair. Lovingly petting the top of my head he told me, “I always want you to stay.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 1:30 pm

    This put tears in my eyes. Thank you for sharing lovah!

Leave a Reply

