Skip to content

Stress Relief

February 19, 2009

This has been a very tiring and stressful week for me. I’ve smoked almost an entire pack (I’m at most a pack a month on average.. if it’s a good month, I can make it stretch for two), my dermopilomania is getting the best of me, and I’ve had more anxiety attacks than I am comfortable with. I am going to be fairly open and honest in this post and hope I don’t offend anyone, but I need to get some things out there.

Last night was my breaking point. I thought I was okay when I walked into SKALES, but I think the fact that I’ve been swamped with work in my real life was just masking my anxiety. Not to mention I’m a bit of an empath, or a sponge as I like to say. When other people I’m close to are having issues, it affects me. Halfway through the presentation I had two different waves of emotions. The first was a feeling of extreme tension. My chest started twisting into knots and I started feeling very angry and frustrated. The second, was a flashback to one of those bad experiences I’ve alluded to. Coupled together, I found myself curled up under a pillow on the couch. I gradually felt better throughout the night. Perhaps it was all the nicotine and beer. Or maybe even the fact that I had the person sitting next to me just sit and pinch my anxiety away. I’m feeling better but I know the underlying issues are all still there.

I am so freaking tired and it’s honestly unnecessary. I have been sitting and dwelling all week about how it’s “not fair” that I was placed into a situation without full disclosure, that people seem to think I need to know much more than necessary. I know dwelling isn’t the best course of action I could take- especially in terms of my emotional health. I’m just at the point where I’m done. I’m freaking done. I almost walked out several times last night both at SKALES and at dinner after. I’m pretty sure I was on the verge of tears too. Not because anything additional was said, just because thing aren’t settled and I can feel it when I’m there.

I was telling someone something last night, and I think it’s very pertinent. There is the person I try to be, and the person I am. The woman I try to be is sane, logical, rational and one of the best damned decision makers/problem dealers around. The byproduct of being raised by a single father who had issues with women. I like this woman, she ties in very nicely to my tomboy persona who isn’t quite “like the other girls”. It works for me. Only problem is, I have learned to live as this version of myself for so long that even when I really DO have emotions, freaking irrational fucking emotions, I react as her instead of me. This is where the conflict comes in. I get so frustrated because I find silly emotions like sadness, jealousy, etc seeping into my subconscious and they are feelings that I don’t want to feel. rawr.

For those in the know, this last paragraph is very loaded. I’m just going to leave it at that.

Rawr.

I’m going to go smoke now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

