Skip to content

Wanton Wednesday: Inner Beauty

July 14, 2010

This week’s photos, the second in a series I started last week, were taken by Bad Kitty. We were in my studio with some friends and she had asked me to wear comfortable clothing without doing my hair or make-up. I have some pretty strong feelings about how they turned out, but I’m going to reserve my assessment until after the project is over. I keep reminding myself that this isn’t about me. It’s about how others see me, and I think it’s a pretty important message for ME to understand.

The first few times I met Evey she was, well, Evey: a young, bright-eyed, perky-as-hell, sprite with a penchant for mischief. As the months went by, we would say hello to one another when we were both in the same place, at the same time, occasionally we would chat. Mostly, she was someone that I could point out in a crowd, but couldn’t say that I “knew”. One night, at a party, I got a quick glimpse of the person beyond the surface. Deep inside, there is a person that even Evey, herself, may not recognize; for now, I have named her Eve

If stories are to be believed, Eve never knew the concepts of modesty, shame and fear. Why would Eve be shy? Baring oneself for the world to see is not a source of embarrassment. Afterall, how can a person feel shame, as if they have something to hide, when obscenity has not yet come into existence? The covering of one’s skin with fig leaves would be blasphemous to the perfection of Her image. Like her namesake, Eve is life. She is beauty, innocence, and wonder; her limbs reach out like branches, expanding and exploring in all directions. Unfortunately, again like her namesake, Eve trusted everyone and everything around her. As she attempted to quench her insatiable curiosity, Eve never once imagined that those she had trusted to lead her in her quest would betray, wound, shun, and attempt to destroy her.

Eve now hides. She occasionally peeks out from behind the curtains, when her eyes can be hidden by shadow or the fall of dark silk. Most people never even know she’s there, right beneath the surface: lurking, watching, waiting. She is only just beginning to believe that there might still be light by which she can grow. Eve has spent so much time away from the sun that it now burns her eyes, rather than causing her leaves to reach upward. Maybe someday, she will reemerge and let the rest of us see the beauty of creation.

~ Bad Kitty

Sorry for the lack of “Wanton” in my Wanton Wednesday posts as of late. I’ve been in a place where I hate myself in the nude, so putting pictures up of it- to me that’s not sexy. I’m hoping that this exploration of beauty and sex appeal from the eyes of my loves will help. Until then, if you’re needing a fix of the Wanton and Lustful- take a look at everyone else participating this week over at…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 7:40 am

    You are absolutely gorgeous Evey. so much <3 for these pics and for you!

  2. July 14, 2010 10:31 am

    I love your eyes in the third pic — it’s as if they’re looking right into mine.

    I’m new to this and visiting other Wanton Wednesday participants, so I’ll be back to read through your blog some more a little bit later.

  3. July 14, 2010 12:28 pm

    You are beautiful! Don’t you worry about the lack of “wanton” you just keep doing this and you’ll get back to feeling better about yourself as we all help by voicing our compliments :)

  4. July 15, 2010 7:01 am

    You’re a lovely woman. You have beautiful eyes and very delicious lips!

  5. July 17, 2010 3:17 pm

    I think we all go through phases where we feel less wanton and that’s ok. I do love this pictures because they show you naturally and you are gorgeous as is!

Trackbacks

  1. Wanton Wednesday #14 « Wanton Wednesday
  2. Wanton Wednesday – Pinned « Pieces of Jade
  3. Wanton Wednesday: Wax on, wax off! « Voyeurondisplay’s Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

